My First Blog

Hello all,

My name is Claire and I am currently a kindergarten teacher in Virginia.  I have been teaching for over 30 years and 23 of those years in kindergarten and I wouldn’t teach any other grade level! I  have begun this blog on the encouragement from my husband, Peter, who knows that I am passionate about the educational process of young children and I also love computers, so why not put the two passions together and create a blog for parents of young children. I love to talk and I love to write so I am open to suggestions on topics to write about, or answer your questions pertaining to young children, especially 5 and  6 year olds.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “My First Blog

  1. mary louise obrien

    Claire, I definitely think there is a need for parents to hear from an experienced kindergarten teacher. YOu also give them the opportunity to ask questions and perhaps give them a different outlook on a situation.
    good luck and know you are doing a service for many. Nothing like teaching! mary o.

  2. Marnie

    You go, Claire! I look forward to reading and sharing!

  3. Maryn

    You are awesome, Claire!

  4. Kanchana

    What a fantastic idea! I look forward to reading your blog . I hope you add some interesting anecdotes as well. I am sure you have a huge collection of stories.

  5. Deepa

    You go… Claire! This is wonderful! I am sure you will be a super success at this as well 🙂

  6. Courtney Slazinik

    Can’t wait to read more!

  7. Holly

    Your blog is amazing, I’m hoping it will open the eyes of parents who are sending there little ones for the first time, your seasoned experience and knowledge is priceless!!!

  8. Holly

    okay i have to post that I realized I spelled the wrong “there” it should have been their! hehehe!

  9. Melissa Katz

    Dear Mrs. Turck,
    What a great idea. I am looking forward to reading more. My daughter, Gaby, was in your kindergarten class four years ago. I am keeping my fingers crossed that her sister Calleigh will be in your class this September. I guess I will put away those pre-K workbooks for awhile and help the kids enjoy the summer. Sincerely, Melissa Katz

    • kindergartenteacherclaire

      Enjoy the rest of your summer, and who knows, we may see more of your family once school starts!

  10. Kris Rogers

    Now I can say, “Mrs. Turck says to turn off the tv and play outside.” We ALWAYS do what Mrs. Turck says!

    I’m looking forward to reading more.

  11. Areej

    Hello,

    I am happy to say that yes putting those workbooks away was the best thing that anyone has told me to do. My son Zak is more into reading and writing because i didnt force him to do those workbooks and he is asking a lot more educational questions. So I am very happy to have had him in your kindergarten class. I look forward to learn more from you so I can pass it on to his 2 year old brother and 5 month old sister.

  12. Kathie Wilson

    This is a fabulous idea Claire. I’ll be forwarding this to several neighbors who may be in your classroom next year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

