Board Games For Non-Readers

Yesterday I gave you a list of suggested board games to  play with your Kindergartner.  If your child is not reading yet or is just learning to play board games, here are some additional games that might be more appropriate for a non-reader.
  • Boggle Jr.
  • Buckaroo
  • Colorforms Silly Faces Preschool Game by University Games
  • Cranium Balloon Lagoon
  • Cranium Cariboo
  • Cranium Hullabaloo
  • Dominos
  • Good Night Moon Game
  • Hi Ho Cherry-O
  • Hungry, Hungry Hippo
  • I Spy Preschool Game by Briarpatch
  • Littlest Pet Shop Game
  • Mastermind
  • Memory Games: Original Memory Game by Milton Bradley
  • Mouse Trap by Milton Bradley
  • Other games: Card games such as Go Fish, War, Old Maid, Crazy Eights.
3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Board Games For Non-Readers

  1. mary louise obrien

    Teacher Claire, Board games are a wonderful experience for children and their families. Teachers in the middle school level realized how much the children enjoyed the board games when they became part of team time. Children need to be encouraged to sit and enjoy the games during family time. Of course, they need help from parents in understanding the game, making it more fun to enjoy and often times win. Thanks for reminding us of games that have been around for awhile .
    catching up on past blogs, great as usual..mary o.

  2. Thanks so much for stopping by my site and leaving a note. I do share sites with my students in an effort to help them better understand life inside the classroom. I will be sharing your site with them.

    As to games, I would add Sorry!, which is great for counting, as well as Trouble. My son, who is in third grade now, also enjoyed Snail’s Pace Race, Race to the Roof, and Qwirkle.

  3. kindergartenteacherclaire

    Thank you for responding so quickly! I had mentioned Sorry and Trouble in my blog the day before the list of games for non readers, but the games Snail’s Pace Race, Race to the Roof, and Qwirkle were new to me so thanks for the tip. I hope that you teachers to be enjoy my site.
    Thank you.
    Claire T.

Leave a Reply

