Counting By 5’s

I wrote 4 days ago about teaching your child to learn to count by 10’s to 100.  This skill will be very beneficial when learning to count money. Adding to that skill would be learning to count by 5’s to 100.  You could use the same chart that you are using for the 10’shttp://www.teachingk-8.com/teachersk8/images/content/pdf/06Feb_bonus_100chart.pdf

This time highlight 5, 15, 25, 35, 45, 55, 65, 75, 85, and 95 with one color highlighter. If you are new to this, also highlight the 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, 70, 80, 90, and 100 with a different color highlighter. You now have a chart that will allow your child to practice counting to 100 by 5’s and 10’s, a skill that will be very beneficial when learning to count nickels and dimes.

6 Comments

Filed under First Grade, Kindergarten, Math

6 responses to “Counting By 5’s

  1. Hi, I’m so glad to find your lovely and useful blog. Sounds like we have some things in common! I’m also a military spouse, and we’ve also just settled after a lot of traveling, in northern Virginia. I used to teach many different things as we traveled around, but I’m getting my masters/teaching certificate now so that I can teach in public school. I most often dream of Kindergarten. I look forward to keeping up with your blog!

  2. HI i am hoping you can help me. I got my kiddo second quarter report card and all good things. One big thing was his teacher ask me to give my son some extra handwriting help at home with his numbers. I want to find some printable worksheets like the ones he does at school. That give me one number that he can practice writing over and over. I found one the other day but i can;t get it to load now. Thanks for any help you can give.

  3. kindergartenteacherclaire

    Congratulations on your child’s second quarter report card. This is the time of the year that fine motor skills really need to be developed so that handwriting well will not be an issue. There are many reasons why young children cannot write numbers/or letters well. Sometimes children are just young for the task. Sometimes children have weak hand muscles causing weak fine motor control. Sometimes children reverse numbers and letters in Kindergarten and this is SO COMMON! The brain is still developing and the right side and left side of the brain cannot figure out which side is taking control so that is why we often see reversals in Kindergarten. If fine motor and fitting the numbers into a small lined space is the issue, then I would strengthen the hand muscles with play-doh, scissor use, stringing beads. The kneading of the play doh really does wonders. Here is site with some fine motor suggestions:
    http://www.helium.com/items/1573474-primary-school-tips-activities-that-improve-fine-motor-skills
    If you have more specific questions, email me:
    crturck@gmail.com
    Claire

  4. Erin

    My daughter came home this week with another way to remember this – a clapping game. Two people, clap left hand to left hand for 5. Both hands to both hands for 10, back to only the left hands for 15, both hands for 20, etc.

    Took mommy a moment to catch on, but going up to 100 was a lot smoother for her this way, than just rattling off from memory at this point.

    • kindergartenteacherclaire

      Great idea, we do a clap snap pattern as we say the numbers outloud. The hand movements (done in a pattern) really help the kids while learning the pattern of the numbers. Anything that helps kids learn is great! Thanks for the tips.

  5. As a blow owner I believe the subject matter here is reallymagnificent. I appreciate it for your time. You should keep it up forever! Best of luck.
    Finding The Right http://www.zootoo.com/profile/nervepin1/blog/entry/discoveringtherightbraonyourde

Leave a Reply

