Nursery Rhymes in Kindergarten

I first wrote about the value of Nursery Rhymes last summer in my July 30, 2009 blog.  https://kindergartenteacherclaire.wordpress.com/2009/07/30/lifelong-benefits-from-learning-nursery-rhymes-and-poetry-at-a-young-age/

I would like to revisit Nursery Rhymes once again now that the children have been in Kindergarten for 7 months.  Not only can children memorize these rhymes, they can identify the rhyming words, find sight words, find words that we don’t use in our language anymore, or make up a new verse to add to the first verse.  For one activity all you need is a highlighter marker.  Young children feel very grown up when they are allowed to use a highlighter.  Read the Nursery Rhyme together with your child and then ask your child to find two words that rhyme and highlight them.  Ask your child to find other rhyming words and highlight them as well.  Now your child can go through the rhyme and find any sight words that he/she knows how to read.  When you are finished the rhyme should have many words that have been marked with the highlighter.  Your child will feel very grown up doing this activity and you will get a better understanding of whether or not your child understands the concept of rhyming and if he/she is learning any of the sight words that have been taught at school.

7 Comments

Filed under First Grade, Kindergarten, Nursery Rhymes

7 responses to “Nursery Rhymes in Kindergarten

  1. I find your blog very interesting and look forward to reading more posts! As a second year Kindergarten teacher, it’s nice to see someone making parents aware of how drastically standards for kindergarten students have changed.

    I have decided to link my new blog (Candid Teacher) to yours. I hope you’ll link mine to yours as well. Please check mine out at http://www.candidteacher.wordpress.com. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have enjoyed yours. 🙂

    • kindergartenteacherclaire

      Thanks for reading my blog, I have been enjoying writing it. You are right, standards have really changed which is also frustrating because we are still teaching 5 year old brains, just asking them to do much much more than ever before. Claire

      • Yes. I love watching the students grow and seeing how much the students can learn. It’s so frustrating when they are expected to retain it over the course of the summer though. When they forget it, it shows they weren’t ready to learn it.
        Also, with the budget cuts my district is considering going back 1/2 day kindergarten. That will impede their progress even more!

  2. kindergartenteacherclaire

    I teach 2 sessions of half day kindergarten and when I say we hit the ground running, we do! full speed ahead!!

  3. I teach full-day kindergarten. At the end of the day, I am not sure who is more in need of a nap- me or the kids!

  4. kindergartenteacherclaire

    that is so true, I have been teaching kindergarten for a long time and I still get tired at the end of the day!

  5. Love this idea! I used to teach Kindermusik, and I’m a huge fan of using nursery rhymes. They are a cultural treasure, as well as being so useful for the kinds of activities you just described.

Leave a Reply

