Parent Teacher Conferences

Teachers request parent teacher conferences for many reasons.  It could be anything from academic concerns, to your child’s behavior, or your child’s ability to make new friends. One thing for certain is that if a teacher calls for a conference, he/she feels strongly that there is just cause for the meeting.  I tell parents that I don’t like to deliver surprises during our required parent teacher conference in November, so I often will meet with parents before this conference to discuss concerns that cannot wait. As a parent you should go to any and all parent teacher conferences.  Listen to what is being said at the conference and then together with the teacher discuss goals for the child that involves both school and home. Then make a commitment to being an active participant in your child’s education.  Your child’s teacher cannot do it all alone.  He/she needs your support to help make this a successful year as possible.

3 Comments

Filed under Parent Teacher Conferences

3 responses to “Parent Teacher Conferences

  1. How do you feel about a parent asking for a conference? I have a few concerns that I would like to discuss with the teacher and I’d like them addressed before November. On the other hand I know how busy teachers are and I don’t want to add to that. What is your opinion?

    • kindergartenteacherclaire

      Hello, Definitely ask…I have already had conferences,,,and only been in school 10 days. If you have concerns,now is the time to voice them,so that you and your child’s teacher can have a great year working together. Good luck!

  2. That is very attention-grabbing, You’re an excessively professional blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and stay up for in quest of extra of your wonderful post.
    Additionally, I have shared your web site in my social networks

Leave a Reply

