My Child Is Shy

Each year I meet a new group of children that will be in my classroom for the entire school year.  I meet these children usually at School Open House which takes place a few days before school actually begins. I love meeting the children with whom I will spend so much time with this year.  I love meeting parents and talking to them about their children.  What all teachers do not like, is when a parent says “My child is shy” in front of that very child.  Beginning of the year jitters are common, even for teachers if you can believe it.  Jitters aside, when children are hiding behind parents legs, won’t talk to the teacher when spoken to, the LAST thing a teacher wants to hear from the parent is “My child is shy.” When your child hears you say this time after time after time, he/she will begin to feel that being ‘shy’ is exactly the way you want him/her to behave.  Praise your child in public, especially when meeting a new person, such as a new teacher. Talk about what a wonderful year he/she had in other school situations.  Talk about something your child is good at, like a sport, or singing or drawing.  If you have just moved talk about something special from your last school or home.  The more you draw attention to positive things about your child, your child will begin to expect that you are going to say something nice about him/her when you meet other adults and your child will be ready and listening.  In time, the ‘shyness’ will go away, but it will take a much longer time to happen if your child is always hearing about how ‘shy’ he/she is.  If you think that your child really does need practice in new social situations, join a sports team, make some playdates with new friends from school, take lessons from another adult where you won’t be able to stay and answer for them when the instructor is talking to them. No one can answer for your child in school.  Think about that parents!

3 Comments

Filed under First Grade, Kindergarten, Maturity, Parents, Responsibility, Social Skills

3 responses to “My Child Is Shy

  1. mary

    HI,As a former first grade teacher, I enjoy reading your blog. Many ideas are great for upper grade students as well. YOu suggest many wonderful ideas that are right on target for the first few days /weeks of school. I hope other readers realize that these suggestions are very helpful and the situations talked about really do happen.

  2. I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Carry on the excellent works guys Ive incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think itll improve the value of my web site
    How to

  3. Woh I like your content material , saved to bookmarks ! .
    Best

Leave a Reply

